Ingredient of the Week: Peppers

This weeks ingredient is… bell peppers!

Bell peppers are one of my favourite vegetables, especially green. Whenever I’m feeling sick, or if I haven’t been eating particularly well I will just sit and eat an entire pepper and feel back to normal afterwards. I’m sure this is more of a mental thing, but for me it works!

Bell peppers yield about 20 calories per 100 grams, and are very high in Vitamin C which aids in supporting the immune system. Additionally, bell peppers are low in carbs and sugar, but relatively high in dietary fibre.

peppers

This weeks recipe will be featuring bell peppers and will include the following:

Please check back within the next 2 days for updates on these recipes!

I have found that the meat market in my town also offers great deals on fresh and local produce, especially veggies! I bought 2 green peppers, and 4 red/orange/yellow peppers for about $5.

One thought on “Ingredient of the Week: Peppers

  1. Kirsten says:

    Peppers rock!!!
    Keep the great posts coming Emma. You’ve inspired me to make a nice stir fry this evening.

    Cheers,

    Your friend Kirsten

    Like

Leave a comment